OFFICIALS FROM Oak Ridge Area Attend Department of Energy Intergovernmental Meeting

November 23, 2016

Local officials from the City of Oak Ridge and Roane County recently attended the U.S. Department of Energy’s Annual Intergovernmental conference in New Orleans, Louisiana. Participants met with federal, state and local leaders from DOE sites across the nation, including top managers overseeing DOE’s Environmental Management (EM) Program.   

The conference was held in cooperation with DOE’s Office of Intergovernmental Programs, which supports DOE’s EM mission through liaison, communications, coordination, and interaction with State, Tribal, City, and County Governments.  

Intergovernmental groups represented at the conference include: Energy Communities Alliance, Environmental Council of the States, National Association of Attorneys General, National Conference of State Legislatures, National Governors Association Center for Best Practices, and DOE’s State and Tribal Government Working Group.  

Senior DOE officials who were speakers at the conference include David Klaus, Deputy Under Secretary for Management and Performance; Sue Cange, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. DOE Office of Environmental Management; and Frank Marcinowski, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regulatory and Policy Affairs, U.S. DOE Office of Environmental Management. Much of the discussion centered on accomplishments in the Environmental Management program, budgetary and succession planning challenges, and transition briefings for the new Administration.  

Pictured (left to right): Oak Ridge Mayor Warren Gooch; Ron Woody, Roane County Executive; Sue Cange, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy Office of Environmental Management; Oak Ridge Councilman Chuck Hope.

A separate meeting was held prior to the conference among the communities of Oak Ridge, Los Alamos and Hanford to discuss issues associated with implementation of the Manhattan Project National Historical Park.

Travel expenses for local participants were supported through cooperative agreements among the DOE EM program, National Governors Association, the National Conference of State Legislators, and the Energy Communities Alliance.