top of page

Meet City Council

City council Group photo.jpg

The City is governed by a modified City Manager-Council form of government. The governing body of the City is a seven-member City Council. Approximately half of the City Council is elected on a non-partisan basis every two years for a four-year term of office. Following each regular City election, the City Council elects one of its members as Mayor to serve for a two-year period as ceremonial head of the City and presiding officer of the City Council. The City Council appoints the City Manager, who is the chief administrative officer of the City. The City Manager appoints all other City employees except the City Attorney who is appointed by City Council.

Please address any mail for council to the office listed below:
City Clerk
200 South Tulane Avenue
P.O. Box 1
Oak Ridge, TN 37831
Phone: (865) 425-3411
Fax: (865) 425-3409


The Oak Ridge City Councilmembers proudly serve the community and enjoy sharing special events, occasions, and celebrations with the community.  If you have an event or celebration that you would like to invite City Council to attend, please contact the City Clerk's Office (contact information above) to coordinate scheduling.

bottom of page