FAQs about Red Light/Speed Enforcement Cameras


Q: Where are cameras located?
A:
Speed-only cameras are currently located on the Oak Ridge Turnpike in front of the Oak Ridge High School and on Robertsville Road near Willowbrook Elementary School (near Jefferson Avenue and Iroquois Road). Red-light/Speed cameras are located on the Oak Ridge Turnpike at the intersection of New York/Lafayette and on Illinois Avenue at the intersection of Robertsville Road.

Q: How do the cameras work?
A: The red-light cameras detect motor vehicles that pass sensors when a traffic signal has turned red. The sensors are connected to computers and high-speed cameras that take photographs and video of the violation. Video images show the red light violator before entering the intersection on a red signal, as well as the vehicle's progression through the intersection. Cameras record information such as date, time, and time elapsed since the beginning of the red signal. Trained law enforcement officials review the video and authorize a violation notice to be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle when violations occur.

The speed cameras operate in a similar manner; however, they are specifically programmed to also register the speed of a motor vehicle. If a motor vehicle is traveling over the posted speed limit, a speed violation notice may be sent to the registered owner of the vehicle.

Q: Is there any notice to the public of a camera-enforcement location?
A: Yes. State law requires a notice to be posted prior to the camera location. The City has signs posted at each location.

Q: After installation, how do you know the cameras are operating properly?

A: Redflex and the City's Police Department periodically test the system for accuracy. The systems are also maintained by Redflex on a regular basis.

Q: Do the cameras photograph every motor vehicle that passes through the camera locations?
A: No. Cameras are set so that only those motor vehicles that are in violation of running a red light and/or speeding are photographed. Vehicles entering the intersection on a yellow light and still in the intersection when the light turns red are not photographed by the cameras.

Q: Can I receive a notice for both running a red light and speeding?

A: Yes. If the camera is equipped as a red light/speed camera and a motor vehicle improperly proceeds through the intersection on a red light and is traveling in excess of the posted speed limit, a notice for both a red light violation and a speed light violation may be issued.

Q: Can I turn right on red in Oak Ridge?

A: Yes, unless the intersection is posted as a “no right turn on red” intersection. However, Tennessee law requires that a driver make a full and complete stop prior to entering the intersection. A right turn on red can only be made after this full and complete stop, and then only when the intersection is clear and it is safe to proceed.

Q: Where can I view my violation?
A: When a notice is issued for a red light and/or speed violation, the notice provides a website to view the individual violation. This can be viewed on a computer with internet access. The City has computers available for public use at the Oak Ridge Public Library at no charge if residents have a library card. Non-residents must pay $2 for 2 hours for computer use at the library. Violations may also be viewed at the local Redflex office located at 706 South Illinois Avenue, Suite D103, in Oak Ridge.

Q: Where do I pay?
A: Your notice contains a payment coupon (Option A). Please use the payment coupon when paying in person at the local Redflex office located at 706 South Illinois Avenue, Suite D103, or by mail to Oak Ridge Photo Enforcement Program, Payment Center, P.O. Box 888569, Knoxville, Tennessee 37995-8569. By mail, please submit a check or money order payable to “Oak Ridge Photo Enforcement Program.” You may pay by check, money order, or cash in person. Credit card payments are accepted online only.

Q: May I pay my Photo Enforcement ticket online?

A: Yes. In order to pay your Photo Enforcement ticket on-line, go to www.photonotice.com. You will be asked for three pieces of information in order to log in.

They are:
1) Your notice number, 2) Your license plate number, and 3) The City's code.

All the required information can be found on your printed citation.

Q: What if I was not the driver?
A: Your notice contains an affidavit (Option B) to fill out if you were not driving your vehicle at the time of the violation. This affidavit allows you to nominate the actual driver and the notice will be sent to the nominated driver for payment.

Q: What if I sold my vehicle prior to the violation?

A: Your notice contains an affidavit (Option B) to fill out if you sold your vehicle prior to the time of the violation. This affidavit allows you to indicate the new owner of the vehicle and the notice will be sent to the new owner for payment.

Q: What if my vehicle and/or plates were stolen prior to the violation?
A: Your notice contains an affidavit (Option B) to fill out if your plates and/or vehicle were stolen prior to the time of the violation. You must indicate on the affidavit the police report number for the stolen property report to verify the vehicle and/or plates were stolen.

Q: What if I do not believe I was speeding and/or ran a red light?
A: Your notice contains a hearing request form (Option C) to fill out if you would like a hearing scheduled before City Court. If you would like a hearing, please return this form by the time indicated on your notice. If you are found liable by the judge, you will be assessed court costs in the amount of $72.75, which will be in addition to the $50 amount due for the violation.

Q: Will this affect my insurance?

A: No. This is not reported to the violator's insurance company.

Q: What if I still have questions? Who can I call?

A: For answers to questions not listed here, please call the Redflex local office at (865) 482-0502.

Q: Where CAN I VIEW MONTHLY REPORTS?
A: To view monthly reports for the cameras, click here.